top of page

The Transition: and not for triathlon

I've talked about how much I suck at triathlon transitions and I need to work on them, but this blog is not about that. This blog is about transitioning back to work post partum. Here are 8 things I have learned about going back to work.

1. Start adjusting to daycare before you go back to work.

I started work on a Friday, but Cade started daycare that Monday before. These first few days allowed me to get in a routine without the pressure of being anywhere at a certain time. I practiced being as timely as I could, but if something went wrong, it wouldn't affect the rest of the day. Plus, those first few days create some emotions that I didn't want to bring with me to work.

2. It's harder on you than it is on the baby

Cade is so happy to go to daycare. He loves the teachers, the toys, the buggy rides, and all the excitement every day. Every morning he has such a big smile on his face when we get there. The ladies always comment on how happy he is.

This of course is exactly how I want him to be, but that first day, I still cried.

Thank goodness I didn't have to drive to work that first day because I would have been a hot mess. I was able to go home and calm down, knowing it was all going to be ok. I was sad/emotional for a few reasons. 1- It was super weird not having Cade with me. He was in my belly for 9 months, every where I went. Then, for the his first 3 1/2 months, I was with him pretty much 24/7. It felt like something was missing for those first couple days. 2- I felt sad thinking I would be missing out on things. and 3- I selfishly want to be his number 1.

Each time has gotten more routine dropping him off and getting back into the work life. You think you've got it down and you're a champ until something changes. The first day he watched me leave made my heart ache a little bit more again...

3. When pumping at work, get a good/easy nursing bra

I try and take something to work on while I pump to be somewhat productive. In order to do this I need my hands free so this pumping bra has been amazing!

This pumping bra allows you to clip right to the nursing bra I am already wearing. This makes it easier and more efficient allowing me to leave my original bra on at the same time.

4. Store pumping parts and pumped milk in Tupperware

I found a Tupperware container at Walmart that fits my pumping bottles/flanges. This helps make carrying everything back and forth less cumbersome. It is also easy to stick in the fridge and not be an inconvenience to others at work.

I typically pump 2-3 times a day while at work and I leave the pump parts in the refrigerator between sessions so I don't have to spend time washing them. (This is NOT recommended by the CDC- specifically for preemie babies or babies that have other underlying conditions, but I have not had any trouble with it and I know a lot of other people who do this too).

Once I pump, I consolidate it into a 9 ounce bottle so that the pumping bottles are ready for the next session.

5. Your free time at work will no longer be productive, but instead consumed with making milk

I hate pumping during the day. I feel like I have no time to get any planning done because I am spending my time pumping. It really sucks (literally and figuratively-- I know I've said that before, but I can't help myself).

My goal has been to make it to 6 months exclusively breastfeeding because once 6 months, the baby can start being introduced to real food as well. I have over 1500 ounces frozen, so at this point, I feel pretty confident that I can start slowing down my pumping sessions during the day. At about 8 weeks into school, I am just now transitioning to only pumping once, maybe twice at school (depending on if I work out right after school, or go pick up Cade right away). I would like to continue to nurse him when I am with him and use the saved milk for daycare as long as I can.

Once Cade turned 6 months, the pressure to pump at school has been a lot less on myself. I am now trying to regulate the supply so that I don't have to pump during the day anymore, but continue nursing while I am with Cade.

6. Your free time after work will no longer be relaxing, but instead consumed with cleaning bottles

I brought 4, 4ounce bottles for Cade up until 6 months. Once he turned 6 months, he now takes 5 ounces. Most days he only consumes 3 of the 4 bottles. Either way, when I get home I have 3 or 4 bottles to wash, along with my pumping bottles and the bigger storage bottle I used. Thankfully, Cade is growing up and able to entertain himself while I am able to wash. Some days he is cranky and just wants to nurse and cuddle so I have to wait until much later to get the bottles cleaned.

7. Learn from the daycare

The teachers at daycare are very knowledgeable and I try my hardest to learn as much as I can from them. Here are a few things:

Sleeping-

Cade had slept in a rock and play from the beginning. Once we started daycare, he was still sleeping in the rock and play at home and Matt and I decided we would let daycare start the crib transition as that is what they put them in for naps. They suggested sleep sacks to help keep him from jolting himself awake. They had a sleep sack that they have started to put him in which has helped. When we decided to officially transition him to his crib at night (at about 5 months) and we had no troubles at all! (He has been sleeping in his room since about 1 1/2-2 months, just in the rock and play)

Sitting-

We knew Cade had been getting better at sitting and we had been practicing it at home. Daycare sent us a picture of him sitting on a boppy which gave us the idea to use our boppy to also help give him a little bit more support with his practice. It also helps protect him in case he tumbles over.

Daycare Home

Sitting in the stroller-

Our carseat clips right into the stroller so we hadn't really considered putting him in the stroller without it. Daycare sent us pictures of him on the buggy ride:

It wasn't until then we realized he could enjoy stroller walks at home too (about 5 months old- once they are strong enough to hold up their head, they can typically go in the stroller). We have taken him on walks in the carseat, but he can't see anything. Now that he can sit in the stroller and see, he has a blast! He LOVES going for walks and feeling the wind on his face.

Most of these things are very simple things, but as a new parent, I am always wondering when things are OK to try and how to do it. There is so much to learn in this process and having knowledgeable people to rely on and chat with helps give me a peace of mind and confidence going forward.

8. I get so darn excited to pick up that little human

I have been struggling with workouts consistently after school. I usually base my workouts around what time daycare has last fed him because I want to be able to nurse him as soon as I see him so that I don't have to pump. Some days, his next feeding will be right around the time I end work and it always stresses me out because that means I will have to wait longer until I can nurse him, or I should pump and I just don't like pumping. So those days I usually rush over there to make sure I get to nurse him just to avoid pumping. Which then in turn means I do not get my workout in and have to wait for Matt to get home. Which means I typically do not get my workout in after dinner because I am tired and lazy. If they feed him between 2 and 2:30 that is ideal to know I can go get my workout in.

Other days I skip my workout because I feel guilty in leaving him there. Maybe it is also just an excuse because I don't want to work out and I'd rather hang out with him, but I feel like I need to soak up the time with him as much as I can.

No matter how my day has gone, whether I worked out or not, I am always so excited to go pick him up and take him home. His smile, his laugh, his cuddles are what make my day each day. The best is when I get to watch him play with his Dad. That is the ultimate joy.

I miss my little man each day while I am at work. There are many mornings I wish I didn't have to take him to daycare and that I could just stay home with him. However, I do believe it is good for both of us. Plus, the grass is always greener and we always want what we can't have. I'm sure if I did stay home with him, there would be those days I would wish I had something other than cleaning dirty diapers and spit up. And maybe that is just what I need to tell myself to make me feel better ;)

Being back at work helps me to not take the time I get with him for granted. Each morning and each night I snuggle him as much as I can so that I can soak up these days while I have them. Plus in the end, he will need to learn how to be social and independent and this is an opportunity to start to develop those skills.

Peace be the Journey

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page