top of page

Fox Lake Sprint

The swim, I should have started even more towards the front. I thought I was, but I guess not front enough. It was a rolling time trial start, so I didn't know where I would be in comparison to the competition. It took me a little bit to get comfortable. I wasn't in a groove until after the first turn buoy. I wasn't expecting the choppiness and swallowing some water. There were at least 2 times that I had stopped and picked my head up to cough.

T1 I could not get my wet suit off. I was struggling. Other than that, I thought I did decently with T1

Bike- I was frustrated that I didn't know the course (of course my fault) and that I was timid/apprehensive on the turns and not knowing if I could keep my speed or not. This course was not very well marked and there were a lot of sharp turns that slowed down the average. I felt pretty good keeping the watts, I was hoping to keep them even higher for this sprint, but again, I think not knowing the course was the problem. I was also surprised how much wind there was. I wish I had a faster speed, but I was super happy that I was still competitive with the top bikers.

T2- Felt a little bit slow here too, but I'm not surprised with my lack of practice at the beginning of the season.

Run- I couldn't believe how well I did on the run. I looked down at my pace and literally thought, keep carrying me legs. I just figured if my legs were going to keep turning over like this I would let them until they couldn't anymore. Little did I know, I should have asked them to really push it on that last bit. I lost 2nd overall by 9 seconds.

On the car ride home Matt and I were talking about those 9 seconds. He told me that I need to start realizing that I should be up at the top and that I need more confidence in myself. This race helped me see that I think. I know that I should be in the top 3-5 usually in the smaller races, but for some reason I always think I'm not good enough/fast enough for 1st because I know how fast others are. I'm hoping that I can be even more competitive for LITH and Pleasant Prairie before Muncie.

Overall, I was happy with the Fox Lake Tri race and the camaraderie among fellow JHC teammates. I am looking forward to what's next and hopefully I can change my train of thought and competitive edge before July.

Peace be the Journey

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page