top of page

Muncie 70.3 #2

I had pretty much one goal in mind for this race: break the 5 hour mark. I wanted to accomplish this goal, that I broke it down to a T to determine what I had to do in each area to secure a 4:59. Literally, I didn't care if I was seconds away, I just wanted to see a 4 as the first number of my overall time. I determined what I had to keep my swim time under, what my transition times could be, my miles per hour and my run averages in different scenarios in order to get this done.

The expectations for each area was completely doable for my abilities. The problem is, you never know what you are going to get come race day. There are so many variables that could go wrong and change everything. Most of the time, you hear a lot of athletes saying, "it just wasn't my day". Today was my day.

Everything went according to plan. The slightest hiccup could have derailed everything. But it didn't.

I didn't sleep at all the night before. I was calm and not nervous or anxious for the race, or at least I didn't think I was. I just couldn't go to sleep/stay asleep. I might have gotten maybe 2 hours. I knew that wouldn't affect my performance because the work was already done and I'd run on adrenaline, not sleep, so it didn't bother me.

In the morning I was nervous and could barely get down my PBJ.

Once we got there I had everything set and ready and got in line for the bathroom.

Once I was ready to start the swim I felt like I may have to go again but brushed it off.

Swim

Instead of age group swim waves this year, the race started with a self seeded time trial start. This again causes me to not have any idea of where I am within my age group and where they are starting in relation to me.

I started in the middle-ish of the 30-33 group. I felt pretty strong and like I was with people I should be with. I didn't feel like I was getting passed as much as I thought I would for being more aggressive with my swim start time. I thought maybe I would do well then. I found feet here and there and think I did decently at it. I think I got a bit tired and lost some form on the back half of the swim and slowed down/got sloppy.

Once I got out of the water I heard a girl coming by who asked what her time was and the person said 34 as she started to go by me and I saw the 30 on her calf so I knew I needed to stay with her going into transition. It helped pick up my pace a bit, specially knowing I swam 36 and was technically 2 minutes behind her.

I was so happy when I saw 36 because I knew with that time it set me up for what I had wanted in the day. I knew everything I wanted would be possible with that swim.

I got out of transition and had a good idea that I took about 3 minutes in there which again was what I needed. Ironman had me at 2:40 for the transition which I am super happy with. My bike rack was actually right next to the bike out which was nice, but it would even out with the bike in that was on the exact opposite side of transition. So I knew I still had a chance to reach my goal of breaking 5.

Bike

Onto the bike I was in front of the girl who came out of the water with me. She caught me quickly and then I caught her and we did that for a bit until I decided to let her go a little because it was early and I couldn't risk over biking and having a bad run. I knew I was already pushing slightly a bit too much too early so I would stay disciplined. At a certain point I felt like I shouldn't have let her and one other 30 year old who passed me get as far away as they did, but I knew it would all be ok because I would have a strong run.

At every aid station I took water and poured it all over me on the bike. It was a hot day and I knew I would need to stay as cool as I could.

I felt really good on the bike. I checked my over all IF (intensity factor) as I was riding and saw .88 which I had a slight uh oh moment (it's a little high for Half Ironman) and then thought, it feels good/easy, I've got this. Plus my average speed was 21.5 and that was what I needed for my day so I didn't push more than that.

T2

Coming back into transition I knew I needed another good transition to keep on target with what I wanted. When I got out I saw 2 minutes and thought, perfect! IM clocked it at 1:51 so I was so happy my transitions were better.

Run

Getting out to the run I knew everything had gone so perfectly for the day so far I couldn't let it get away from me, I had to reach my goal. As I started I was averaging closer to 7:30 and was slightly worried I was overdoing it on this hot day with this tough, rolling course ahead of me, but figured just use it while I can.

At about mile 2, the one girl in my age group who had come out of the water with me started to slow down and I was pulling away from her. Then I saw the other girl in our age group who had passed me on the back and passed her too. I couldn't believe it actually. I started to remember my coach's words after my race plan: "why not you?" I started thinking, maybe I can place in this crazy competitive age group. The heat was working in my favor as I was pushing through and it was hurting others.

I had a new race belt that was awesome. It was so nice only having one bottle with me on my waist and it didn't bounce or anything. It was nice having my hands free so I could focus on the water/ice/sponges/towels at every station. I felt like I was going through those aid stations like a champ and keeping my body cool.

Between miles 4 and 5 I made the choice to stop at the porta potty. I felt like I did a decent job with my kit before and after being in the porta potty. That mile was my slowest mile at 8:20. I think I probably took 30 seconds in there? I was worried the 2 girls in my age group would catch me after this stop, but thankfully they didn't.

The run I continued thinking to myself, why not me? I kept thinking don't feel sorry for yourself, like my coach mentioned, and keep working for what I want. Keep the legs moving. Use the downhills to calm down and bring the heart down. I really had no idea where I was within the age group, maybe 6th? But I didn't see anyone else to close in on so I just kept trucking. I was paying super close attention to my overall run pace average and I started to watch it go up from the 730s to 740s then 744. I could not let myself slow down any more.

My run miles were:

7:25, 7:38, 7:39, 7:45, 8:20,7:36,7:44,7:49,7:43,7:32,7:50,7:48,7:32

So many people kept telling me I was looking strong, good pace, I had a lot of bounce in my step. It gave me confidence and helped feel a little better. I was probably the most focused that I've ever been in a race.

Once I was at mile 9, things got a bit harder but I kept thinking I was so close. I needed to get to that last turn and I'd have 2 miles straight to the finish. The last 3 miles I was trying to slow and control my breathing. For those last miles, my eyes were probably closed for 1.75 of it. When I got to the last big hill maybe .25 away I changed my watch page to the overall time, 4:56. I had to go. I needed to be under 5. I did not come this far with this much of a perfect day to fail my goal. Once I crossed the line, I needed that support from the volunteers because I was overwhelmed. I was tired, but I freaking did it and wanted to collapse because i didn't have to do anymore in the day.

I put it all out there. I was realistic what I needed to do and I got it done to the T. I think mentally I am getting stronger. I know I am capable of more still. I know that I didn't have a very good disciplined training this spring leading up to this and I was still able to do it.

The day of the race, I was so happy because of breaking 5. The next day, looking at it overall, it stings a bit more looking at 5th place. I lost by a minute or so and her swim was 3 minutes faster than mine. That's another area of improvement. And all the other girls who beat me had faster bikes. I'm getting there, but I know I can be even stronger on the bike and still run well off it. The other girls rode, 22 and 23 mph. That speed took off so much time for them. I know I can do it eventually. I also think the experience itself is a huge factor for me.

Matt and I were talking about the high level of competition in my age group and that I am right there in a way. This area has amazing girls and I'm just picking all the same races they are at. It is motivating to want to place within this mix to help me feel more validated in my abilities.

A new PR, a 6th place Age Group Finish and a 16th Overall female finish is a huge accomplishment.

After the race, we drove to Indianapolis to spend the night before making the rest of the drive back. We stayed at the Drurry Hotel which was the best decision. They had a free "snack buffet", free popcorn, 3 free adult beverages per person (of age) during the snack buffet and an awesome restaurant right in front of the hotel. Highly recommend.

Peace be the Journey

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page